Abu Dhabi

Last Race: 23rd Nov Abu Dhabi

Abu Dhabi GP Results
Pos Driver
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Felipe Massa
3 Valtteri Bottas

Hamilton honoured by BRDC

Tuesday 3rd December 2013



Hamilton honoured by BRDC

Hamilton honoured by BRDC

Lewis Hamilton was the awarded the British Racing Drivers' Club's Gold Star during an awards ceremony held at The Grand Connaught Rooms in London.

The former world champion, who has now won the award on four occasions, had a fine season with new team Mercedes, winning the Hungarian Grand Prix and finishing on the podium four times as he finished his first season with the Brackley outfit in fourth position in the Drivers' Championship.

Several members of Britain's motor racing fraternity attended the event, including Sir Stirling Moss OBE, Christian Horner OBE, John Surtees OBE and Ross Brawn OBE.

Other winners on the night included Red Bull chief designer Adrian Newey, who won the BRDC Gold Medal and Mark Webber, who received the Johnny Wakefield Trophy for setting the fastest lap at Silverstone this year.

The 2013 BRDC Award winners in full

BRDC Gold Star: Lewis Hamilton MBE

First presented in 1929. The BRDC Gold Star is the Club's premier annual award. It recognises the strongest performance of the year by a Member in international motor sport. Points are awarded on a set formula.

BRDC Silver Star: Michael Meadows Aand Jason Plato

Awarded annually, the BRDC Silver Star is the domestic equivalent of the BRDC Gold Star.

BRDC Gold Medal: Adrian Newey OBE

The BRDC Gold Medal is the Club's highest recognition of achievement in, and contribution to, the Club and the sport of motor racing.

The Bruce Mclaren Trophy: Daniel Ricciardo

Awarded to the Commonwealth driver who has established the most meritorious performances in international motor racing.

The Chris Bristow Trophy: Matt Parry

Awarded to the winner of the BRDC McLaren Autosport Young Driver of the Year Award.

The Colin Chapman Trophy: Mike Jordan

A BRDC Special Award presented to an individual who has shown great team spirit, be it a driver, team owner, engineer or similar.

The Earl Howe Trophy: Justin Wilson

Awarded to the highest placed British driver in the Indy 500 race, or to the British driver who has established the most meritorious performance of the year in North America.

The Era Club Trophy: Darren Turner

Awarded to the British driver who, driving a British car, established the most meritorious performance of the year outside the UK.

The Fairfield Trophy: Sean Edwards

Awarded for an outstanding performance by a BRDC Member.

The Graham Hill Trophy: Sam Bird

Awarded to the British driver for the most meritorious performance in single-seater racing.

The Innes Ireland Trophy: Tom Kristensen

Awarded to the driver who best displayed the qualities of courage and sportsmanship epitomized by the late Innes Ireland.

The John Cobb Trophy: Andrew Jordan

Awarded to a British driver, driving a British car, who has achieved success or successes of outstanding character.

The Johnny Wakefield Trophy: Mark Webber

Awarded to the driver setting the fastest race lap of the season on the Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit.

The Nigel Moores Trophy: Ram Racing

Awarded to the private entrant who has established the most meritorious performance(s) in international motor racing.

The Richard Seaman Trophy: Lewis Hamilton MBE

Awarded to the winner of the Gold Star points scoring system.

The Silverstone-Le Mans Challenge: Tom Kristensen, Loïc Duval and Allan Mcnish

Awarded to the driver(s) who achieved the highest combined finishing record in combined results of the Silverstone LMS race and the Le Mans 24-Hour Race.

The Sir Jackie Stewart Award: James Allison

Awarded to a motor sport engineer who has shown brilliance during the course of the season.

The Spencer Charrington Trophy: Jordan King

Awarded to the highest-placed British driver in the British F3 Championship.

The Woolf Barnato Trophy: Jann Mardenborough

Awarded to the highest-placed finishing British and/or Commonwealth Driver(s), in a British car, in the Le Mans 24-Hour Race.

The Aco Plate: Allan Mcnish

Presented on behalf of our friends at the ACO, the award is presented to the highest-placed British driver finishing the Le Mans 24-Hour Race.

The Henry Surtees Award: Dan Cammish

Awarded annually for the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star.

BRDC F4 Championship: Jake Hughes

Awarded to the winner of the BRDC F4 Championship

Vettel's Maiden Ferrari Run

Editor's Picks

McLaren Made Right Choice

McLaren Made Right Choice

McLaren have finally announced they are retaining Jenson Button for 2015. Here are ten reasons why they made the right choice...

PF1 Prediction Results

PF1 Prediction Results

The results are in and Frank Hopkinson turns into an oracle with his scary prediction about safety in F1...

Ten Best Drives Of 2014

Ten Best Drives Of 2014

Andrew Davies looks at the outstanding race performances this season, not always by drivers who made it onto the podium...

Ten Stupid Moments

Ten Stupid Moments

We've had our fair share of stupid moments in F1 this year and Andrew Davies has rounded up some of the best (or worst)...

Xmas Shopping F1 Style

Xmas Shopping F1 Style

PlanetF1 has teamed up with Memento Exclusives to offer you the best F1 Christmas shopping - and there's an extra something...